

ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE

State Capitol Juneau, AK 99801

March 6, 2023

Rosalind Brewer - CEO Walgreens 200 Wilmot Rd, Deerfield, IL 60015

Dear Ms. Rosalind Brewer,

We are writing to express grave concern that Walgreens is cutting off health care services in Alaska—which are Constitutionally protected—in response to inappropriate pressure from the Attorney General. We are enclosing with this letter a copy of the Alaska Constitution and encourage you to review it.

Alaska voters established a right to privacy through a Constitutional amendment in 1972, and our Supreme Court has consistently interpreted the right to privacy to include a woman's right to make their own health care decisions. Alaska also has a decennial vote on whether we should hold a constitutional convention to amend our Constitution. Last year —as has happened every 10 years since Statehood— Alaskans voted "no" on a Constitutional convention. Thus, Alaskans are clear on upholding the Constitution and protecting the right to privacy. Alaska's Constitution has long been clear: abortion medication is protected under the right to privacy.

No company should willingly eliminate access to life-saving medication in response to the political demands of a few Attorneys General, particularly when the action directly undermines Constitutional rights in our state.

Undermining Constitutional rights based on the demands of a handful of politicians or appointees sets a dangerous precedent. We urge you to restore access to abortion medication in Alaska immediately, based on our Alaska Constitution protecting women's rights to make their own health care decisions. Alaska's Attorney General—a political appointee—may not like the Constitution, but it is the law of this Great Land.

Sincerely,



ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE

State Capitol, Juneau, AK 99801

Representative Zack Fields House District 17, Anchorage

Representative Cliff Groh House District 18, Anchorage

Representative Genevieve Mina House District 19, Anchorage

Representative Andy Josephson House District 13, Anchorage

Representative Ashley Carrick House District 35, Fairbanks

Representative Jennie Armstrong House District 16, Anchorage Representative Sara Hannan House District 4, Juneau

Representative Calvin Schrage House District 12, Anchorage

Maxine Dil

Representative Maxine Dibert House District 31, Fairbanks

Representative Rebecca Himschoot House District 2, Sitka

Representative CJ McCormick House District 38, Bethel

C.J. Maloronta

Representative Alyse Galvin House District 14, Anchorage

Representative Donna Mears House District 21, Anchorage

Danna C Mears

Representative Andi Story House District 3, Juneau

andi Ston

Representative Andrew Gray House District 20, Anchorage

Senator Elvi Gray-Jackson Senate District G, Anchorage

Beel Walesboursh

Senator Bill Wielechowski Senate District K, Anchorage

Senator Forrest Dunbar Senate District J, Anchorage

Senator Scott Kawasaki Senate District P, Fairbanks

Senator Matt Claman Senate District H, Anchorage